Slushie has a whole new meaning

The Hubs and I are Florida fans.
We have been for a few years now. Once you have been fans through a couple of rough seasons, you stick to the same team.
So needless to say, tomorrow is a big day. University of Florida takes on the University of Georgia on neutral ground in Jacksonville, Florida. After the St. John’s Wicked 5k in the morning, and a couple of hours of the Moody Airshow featuring the Thunderbirds, we are parking it in front of our TV for some SEC Football!! I am preparing this afternoon for tomorrow’s festivities. Lots of water for the race, actually listening to the planes practice for the airshow and preparing Wine Slushie for game time!

A local winery is slightly famous for their wine slushie (I’ve actually never had theirs) that they make in a real slushie machine! One day while visiting my mother, she shared a version that she made. I was in love and I don’t even like wine! I don’t really measure when I make mine but I’ll estimate for you.

You’ll need:

A gallon sized ziploc freezer bag

1 cup Cran-something Ocean Spray-type juice (whichever kind tickles your fancy)

A bottle of a sweet red wine

Half-can of frozen condensed Lemonade

1/2 – 1 cup of sugar, depending on how sweet you want it

 

Mix all ingredients into the plastic freezer bag. Close the bag, the place in your freezer for at least 6 hours. Make sure that it isn’t going to leak in your freezer. From experience it isn ‘t fun cleaning it off the freezer walls, it feels wasted. And no, I didn’t lick it off the freezer.

These are the items I used.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The final product.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What is you “go-to” favorite home made drink?

Follow me on instagram : @missaprilmay

Follow me on twitter : @aprilmaybruhl

Follow me on pinterest : @aprilbruhl

Leave a Reply

